Lower Murray Urban and Rural Water Corporation (LMW) proposes to undertake the Victorian Murray Floodplain Restoration Project (VMFRP) which consists of nine discrete sub-projects:

  • Gunbower
  • Guttrum-Benwell
  • Vinifera
  • Nyah
  • Burra Creek
  • Hattah Lakes North
  • Belsar-Yungera
  • Wallpolla Island
  • Lindsay Island.

The Hattah Lakes North Floodplain Restoration Project aims to return a more natural flood regime to 1,130 hectares of the Hattah Lakes Floodplains Complex, within Hattah-Kulkyne National Park and Murray-Kulkyne Park.

The Belsar-Yungera Floodplain Restoration Project aims to return a more natural flood regime to 2,375 hectares of the Belsar-Yungera Floodplain Complex within the Narcooyia Creek, Bonyaricall Creek and Yungera Creek anabranches of the Murray River.

The works proposed for these projects will include:

  • construction of channels
  • large and small regulators
  • containment structures
  • temporary cofferdams
  • spillways
  • new access tracks and realignments/upgrades to existing access tracks.

The projects will also establish borrow pit sites to supply fill material to support construction.

As per the Minister’s Decision, one environment effects statement (EES) process will be undertaken to assess the potential environmental effects of both of the Hattah Lakes North and Belsar-Yungera projects.


Scoping requirements

The scoping requirements set out the matters to be investigated and documented in the environment effects statement (EES).

Draft scoping requirements for this EES were on public exhibition from 23 April to 14 May 2021.

After considering public submissions on the draft scoping requirements, the Minister for Planning issued final scoping requirements in July 2021, dated June 2021.

Scoping requirements Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Consultation Plan

LMW has prepared a consultation plan for the EES, outlining the opportunities and approaches for its community engagement during the preparation of the EES.

The addendum below provides further details of specific consultation activities planned.

The plan and addendum may be updated as required during the preparation of the EES. If updates are made, the updated versions will be posted on this page.

Technical reference group

The department has convened an inter-agency Technical Reference Group (TRG) to advise the proponent and the department, as appropriate, on scoping and adequacy of the EES studies during the preparation of the EES, as well as coordination with statutory approval processes.

The organisations represented on the Technical Reference Group are:

  • DELWP – Impact Assessment
  • DELWP – Loddon Mallee Region
  • DAWE
  • DJPR - Earth Resources Regulation
  • Department of Transport
  • Aboriginal Victoria
  • Heritage Victoria
  • First People of the Millewa-Mallee Aboriginal Corporation
  • Swan Hill Rural City Council
  • Mildura Rural City Council
  • Campaspe Shire Council
  • Gannawarra Shire Council
  • Mallee Catchment Management Authority
  • North Central Catchment Management Authority
  • Parks Victoria
  • Lower Murray Water
  • Goulburn Murray Water
  • Environment Protection Authority

Technical Reference Group representatives are supported by internal experts on specific aspects of the EES studies.

Minister's decision

On 06 December 2020 the Minister for Planning required LMW to prepare a single environment effects statement (EES) under the Environment Effects Act 1978 to assess the potential environmental effects of both the Hattah Lakes North and Belsar-Yungera projects.

More information

Proposed Hattah Lakes North Floodplain Restoration Project and Belsar-Yungera Floodplain Restoration Project queries:

EES process queries:

Impact Assessment Unit
☎ Phone: (03) 9392 5503
✉ Email: Environment assessment team


Scoping Requirements