The Willatook Wind Farm Project proposes to construct up to 83 wind turbines covering approximately 6,750 hectares of private and public land in Willatook, south west Victoria, about 22 kilometres north of Port Fairy.

In addition to the turbines and their towers, the proposal would include underground cabling, overhead powerlines, access tracks, wind monitoring masts and temporary infrastructure associated with construction (i.e. construction compound, laydown areas, concrete batching plants and a potential on-site quarry).

The proposed wind farm would have a total capacity of approximately 400 MW, produce approximately 1,400 GWh of electricity each year, and an operational life of approximately 25 years.


Draft scoping requirements

The Department will prepare draft scoping requirements for the environment effects statement (EES). The draft scoping requirements will set out the matters to be investigated and documented in the EES. Public comments on the draft scoping requirements will be invited. After considering submissions on the draft scoping requirements, the Minister for Planning will issue final scoping requirements for the EES.

Consultation plan

The proponent, Willatook Wind Farm Pty Ltd, will prepare a communications and consultation plan for the EES. The plan will outline the opportunities and approaches for community engagement during the preparation of the EES. The plan will be refined following advice from DELWP and the Technical Reference Group and, when completed, will be published on this web page. The consultation process may be adapted or modified to meet changing community needs and requirements.

Technical Reference Group

The Department will convene an inter-agency Technical Reference Group at the request of the Minister for Planning to advise the Department and the proponent on scoping and adequacy of the EES studies and documentation, as well as co-ordination of the EES process with other statutory processes for the project.

The government organisations represented on the Technical Reference group are still under consideration.

Technical Reference Group representatives are supported by internal experts on specific aspects of the EES studies

Minister’s Decision EES required

On 27 December 2018 the Minister for Planning required Willatook Wind Farm Pty Ltd to prepare an environment effects statement (EES) under the Environment Effects Act 1978 to assess the potential environmental effects of the project.

Reasons for decision (PDF, 607.1 KB)

More Information

If you have any questions or feedback, please get in touch via the contact details below.

  • Proposed Willatook Wind Farm Project queries:
    Willatook Wind Farm Pty Ltd
    ☎ Phone: (03) 9005 9075
    ✉ Email: info@willatookwindfarm.com


All documentation relating to this project can be found here.

EES documents

Minister's Reason for Decision:

Consultation Plan:

  • Currently being prepared

Draft scoping requirements:

  • Currently being prepared