On this page:


CASA: The Civil Aviation Safety Authority.

DEECA: Department of Energy, Environment, and Climate Action - Victorian Department administering the FFG Act.

DCCEEW: Department of the Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water - Federal Department administering the EPBC Act.

EES: Environment Effects Statement- A statement prepared under the Environment Effects Act 1978 (Vic) assessing the significant environmental effects of proposed works.

DTP: Department of Transport and Planning.

EMP: Environmental management plan.

EPA: Environment Protection Authority.

EPBC Act: Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (Cth) - Federal legislation dealing with the protection of, and assessment of impacts of activities on, matters of national environmental significance.

FFG Act: Flora and Fauna Guarantee Act 1988
- Victorian legislation dealing with the protection of listed species of flora and fauna.

PPF: Planning Policy Framework - contained in the VPP and all planning schemes.
the Standard: New Zealand Standard NZS 6808:2010 Acoustics – Wind Farm Noise - The noise standard for wind energy facilities applicable under clause
52.32 of the VPP.

VCAT: Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal.

VPP: Victoria Planning Provisions - A set of standard provisions on which all Victorian planning schemes are based.

WEF: Wind energy facility.


W: watt - A unit of power. The power generation capacity of a wind generator is measured in watts.

MW: megawatt. A unit of energy. 1 megawatt = 1000 watts.

Wh: watt hour. A unit of energy. The amount of electricity a wind energy facility generates is measured in watt hours.

Page last updated: 13/09/23