The VPA is responsible for preparing development plans and other proposals in identified metropolitan, growth areas and regional cities and towns. Some of these plans are to be approved through the planning scheme amendment process using the provisions of section 20(4) of the Planning and Environment Act 1987.

The Committee will provide a timely and targeted process which allows submissions to be made to the VPA on a draft plan and associated draft planning scheme amendment. The Committee will assess the merits of any unresolved issues before the final planning scheme amendment is submitted to the Minister for Planning for approval.

The purpose of the committee is to provide advice to the Minister for Planning and the VPA on specific matters referred to it by the VPA in relation to various projects with State and regional significance, including structure plans, infrastructure and development contribution plans, framework plans, development plans and any associated draft planning scheme amendment and planning permits.

More Information

For questions regarding current and future referrals, please contact:
Dana Kushnir, Planner, Victorian Planning Authority
☎Phone: (03) 9651 9664
✉ Email: dana.kushnir@vpa.vic.gov.au

For questions regarding the Advisory Committee process, please contact:
Andrea Harwood, Senior Project Manager, Planning Panels Victoria
☎Phone: (03) 8392 5123
✉ Email: planning.panels@delwp.vic.gov.au

Panel or Committee

Terms of Reference

The VPA Projects Standing Advisory Committee was appointed in July 2020 to advise the Minister for Planning and the VPA on specific matters referred to it by the VPA in relation to various projects.

Terms of Reference (PDF, 150.6 KB) or (DOCX, 58.4 KB)

Advisory Committee Members

  • Nick Wimbush (Lead Chair)
  • Sarah Carlisle (Chair)
  • Tim Hellsten (Chair)
  • Lester Townsend (Chair)
  • Con Tsotsoros (Chair)
  • Rodger Eade (Deputy Chair)
  • Geoff Underwood (Deputy Chair)
  • Michael Ballock
  • Meredith Gibbs
  • Jonathan Halaliku
  • John Hartigan
  • Shelley McGuinness
  • David Merrett
  • Kate Partenio
  • Annabel Paul
  • John Roney
  • Deanna Smith
  • Nicola Ward
  • Catherine Wilson

Learn more about the members by reading their biographies (PDF, 158.2 KB) or (DOC, 94.5 KB).


All supporting documents for this project can be found here.

Supporting documents:

Current Referrals

Referral 1 - Bannockburn Growth Plan and draft Planning Scheme Amendment to the Golden Plains Planning Scheme
Referral 2 – Amendment c156mona – PMP Printing Precinct Comprehensive Development Plan (CPD) to the Monash Planning Scheme
Referral 3 – Amendment c152bass – Wonthaggi North East Precinct Structure Plan to the Bass Coast Planning Scheme