Regional bushfire planning assessments (RBPAs) map where a significant bushfire hazard may affect land use planning, and identify features such as settlements, urban interfaces and single access roads. They are a resource to assist councils to support community resilience to bushfire with their strategic planning such as preparing a planning scheme amendment.

Preparation of the RBPAs addresses Recommendation 38 of the Victorian Bushfires Royal Commission report.

Note: these maps were developed in 2012 and are intended as a guide only. Refer to the Bushfire Prone Area (BPA) and Bushfire Management Overlay (BMO) maps for the latest information.

An accessible Word version of each RBPA containing the introduction, municipal overviews and locality descriptions is provided below however, mapping is a significant feature of the RBPAs. Please email if you require assistance with accessing the RBPAs.

Barwon South-West Region

RBPA: Barwon South-West Region

The Barwon South-West Region RBPA covers the municipalities of: Colac-Otway, Corangamite, Glenelg, Greater Geelong, Moyne, Queenscliffe, Southern Grampians, Surf Coast and Warrnambool.

Gippsland Region

RBPA: Gippsland Region

The Gippsland Region RBPA covers the municipalities of: Bass Coast, Baw Baw, East Gippsland, Latrobe, South Gippsland and Wellington and French Island.

Grampians Region

RBPA: Grampians Region

The Grampians Region RBPA covers the municipalities of: Ararat, Ballarat, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Moorabool, Northern Grampians, Pyrenees, West Wimmera and Yarriambiack.

Hume Region

RBPA: Hume Region

The Hume Region RBPA covers the municipalities of: Alpine, Benalla, Greater Shepparton, Indigo, Mansfield, Mitchell Moira, Murrindindi, Strathbogie, Towong, Wangaratta and Wodonga.

Loddon Mallee Region

RBPA: Loddon Mallee Region

The Loddon Mallee Region RBPA covers the municipalities of: Buloke, Campaspe, Central Goldfields, Gannawarra, Greater Bendigo, Loddon, Macedon Ranges, Mildura, Mount Alexander and Swan Hill.

Melbourne Metropolitan Region

RBPA: Melbourne Metropolitan Region

The Melbourne Metropolitan Region RBPA covers the municipalities of: Banyule, Brimbank, Cardinia, Casey, Frankston, Hume, Knox, Manningham, Maroondah, Melton, Mornington Peninsula, Nillumbik, Whittlesea, Wyndham and Yarra Ranges.

Page last updated: 14/01/21