The Northern Metro region is identified in Plan Melbourne and includes the Local Government Areas of:

  • Banyule
  • Darebin
  • Hume
  • Mitchell
  • Moreland
  • Nillumbik
  • Whittlesea

The region extends from the inner suburbs of Brunswick, Coburg, Preston, Northcote, Heidelberg and Ivanhoe to some of the city’s newest communities in Sunbury, Craigieburn, Mernda and Wallan.

This map shows the boundary for the Northern Metro region and local government areas:

Northern Regional Snapshot showing the local government areas

The draft Northern Metro Land Use Framework Plan is a 30-year strategic vision which provides guidance on how we will:

  • Shape population and industry growth
  • Inform plans for services and infrastructure
  • Guide public and private sector investments such as Suburban Rail Loop.
  • Protect the distinctive and historic characteristics of the Northern Metro Region; and
  • Improve environmental resilience

The draft Land Use Framework Plan document sets out how we will achieve the above under six key themes:

  • Productivity
  • Housing Choice
  • Integrated Transport
  • Liveability
  • Strong Communities
  • Sustainability and Resilience

Traditional Owner Acknowledgement

We gratefully acknowledge the assistance provided by the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung Cultural Heritage Aboriginal Corporation in preparing the Northern Metro Region Land Use Framework Plan.

Download the consultation draft of the Northern Metro Land Use Framework Plan

Page last updated: 06/01/23