The Inner Metro region is identified in Plan Melbourne and includes the Local Government Areas of:

  • Melbourne
  • Port Phillip
  • Yarra

The region contains Melbourne’s CBD, dense, established inner suburbs as well as Port Phillip Bay beaches to the south, the Yarra River (Birrarung) traversing through the region and the Maribyrnong River to the west.

The region is identified as the hub of metropolitan Melbourne and the State of Victoria, supported by significant infrastructure investment. It is now the historic heart of Melbourne’s civic, political and economic life. The Inner Metro region is also home to a high concentration of jobs, global business operations, a bustling 24-hour cultural life and world-class sporting, arts and cultural precincts.

This map shows the boundary for the Inner Metro region and local government areas:

Inner Metro Regional Snapshot showing the local government areas

The draft Inner Metro Land Use Framework Plan is a 30-year strategic vision which provides guidance on how we will:

  • Shape population and industry growth
  • Inform plans for services and infrastructure
  • Guide public and private sector investments such as Suburban Rail Loop.
  • Protect the distinctive and historic characteristics of the Inner Metro Region; and
  • Improve environmental resilience

The draft Land Use Framework Plan document sets out how we will achieve the above under six key themes:

  • Productivity
  • Housing Choice
  • Integrated Transport
  • Liveability
  • Strong Communities
  • Sustainability and Resilience

Traditional Owner Acknowledgement

We gratefully acknowledge the assistance provided by the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung Cultural Heritage Aboriginal Corporation and the Bunurong Land Council Aboriginal Corporation in preparing the Inner Metro Region Land Use Framework Plan.

Download the consultation draft of the Inner Metro Land Use Framework Plan

Page last updated: 06/01/23