The Eastern Metro region is identified in Plan Melbourne and includes the Local Government Areas of:

  • Knox
  • Manningham
  • Maroondah
  • Monash
  • Whitehorse
  • Yarra Ranges

The region is defined by its undulating landscape, established and well-treed neighbourhoods, extensive parklands, boulevards, green wedge land and rural townships.

This map shows the boundary for the Eastern Metro region and local government areas:

Eastern Regional Snapshot showing the local government areas

The draft Eastern Metro Land Use Framework Plan is a 30-year strategic vision which provides guidance on how we will:

  • Shape population and industry growth
  • Inform plans for services and infrastructure
  • Guide public and private sector investments such as Suburban Rail Loop.
  • Protect the distinctive and historic characteristics of the Eastern Metro Region; and
  • Improve environmental resilience

The draft Land Use Framework Plan document sets out how we will achieve the above under six key themes:

  • Productivity
  • Housing Choice
  • Integrated Transport
  • Liveability
  • Strong Communities
  • Sustainability and Resilience

Traditional Owner Acknowledgement

We gratefully acknowledge the assistance provided by the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung Cultural Heritage Aboriginal Corporation, the Taungurung Land and Waters Council and the Bunurong Land Council Aboriginal Corporation in preparing the Eastern Metro Region Land Use Framework Plan.

Download the consultation draft of the Eastern Metro Land Use Framework Plan

Page last updated: 06/01/23