GAIC funds can be used for the purposes of state-funded infrastructure projects located within the Urban Growth Boundary in any of the seven designated growth area councils.

GAIC funds must be spent in, or for the benefit of, these growth areas.  These can include land acquisition, capital works and start-up operating costs for new public transport services.

The following new or upgraded infrastructure and land acquisition project types are priorities for GAIC funds:

Growth Areas Public Transport Fund

  • new railway stations and associated works
  • new bus interchanges
  • future transport corridors
  • bus services for the first five years of operation
  • associated infrastructure for public transport such as car parking and access

Building New Communities Fund

  • primary and secondary government schools and other education facilities
  • state emergency services facilities including fire stations and ambulance stations
  • health, community health, wellbeing and family violence prevention facilities
  • justice facilities including courts and police stations
  • open space improvements
  • walking and cycling
  • regional level sporting and recreational facilities

Sections 201VA (Growth Area Public Transport Fund) and VB (Building New Communities Fund) of the Act provide more specific information about the types of projects that can be funded.

Projects must service areas that have made, or will make, contributions to GAIC. Projects located on land developed or zoned for development before 2005, which are not subject to the contribution, may still be considered for funding if there are clear regional benefits to the newer growth area communities.

It is intended GAIC funds will be distributed to growth corridors broadly in proportion to the amount received over time. Short term variations have occurred so the Government can direct investment to the areas of greatest need and leverage other investments.

Page last updated: 20/11/20