The Minister for Planning is the Responsible Authority and the Planning Authority for the six designated Alpine Resorts within Victoria:

  • Falls Creek
  • Lake Mountain
  • Mt Baw Baw
  • Mt Buller
  • Mt Stirling
  • Mt Hotham

The department administers the Alpine Resorts Planning Scheme on behalf of the Minister.

Contact DELWP

If you have questions about Alpine Resorts and planning approvals, contact:

Development Approvals and Design
Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
Level 8, 8 Nicholson Street, East Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Phone: 1800 789 386

Address lodgement of Ministerial planning permit applications to the Director, Development Approvals and Design.

Resort Management Boards

Alpine Resort Management Boards exist for each Alpine Resort. They:

  • act as the Crown’s representative for leasing and other land management functions; and
  • provide services such as water, sewerage and other municipal services.

For more information about the role and function of the Alpine Resorts Management Boards see the Alpine Resorts (Management) Act 1997.

The relevant Alpine Resort Management Board is a referral authority under Section 55 of the Planning and Environment Act 1987 and has the opportunity to comment on planning permit applications as the Land Manager.

Contact Resort Management Boards

Falls Creek

Stuart Smythe
Chief Executive Officer
☎ Phone: (03) 5758 1202
PO Box 50, Falls Creek VIC 3699

Mt Buller

Mark Bennetts
Chief Executive Officer
☎ Phone: (03) 5777 6077
Alpine Central, Summit Road, Mt Buller VIC 3723

Mt Hotham

Amber Gardner
Chief Executive Officer 
☎ Phone: (03) 5759 3550
PO Box 188, Bright VIC 3741

Southern Alpine

Gail Conman
Chief Executive Officer
☎ Phone: (03) 5957 7222
PO Box 40, Marysville VIC 3779
Lake Mountain Resort

Mt Baw Baw
☎ Phone: (03) 5165 1136
PO Box 117, Rawson VIC 3825

Page last updated: 16/03/20